CB500 Club forum
You don’t stop riding because you’re getting old, but you get old when you stop riding.

+2
eternally_troubled
ar1
6 posters

coolant change

ar1
    ar1
    Barry Sheene
    Barry Sheene

coolant change Empty coolant change

Post by ar1 Tue 23 Aug 2016, 7:39 am

Hope you guys can help. i have never done a coolant change before, do you have to run the engine when you refill the rad, also my coolant is clean and been in for a few years so is it needed to be changed, i have heard of air lock problems, hope you can help, kind regards
    eternally_troubled
    eternally_troubled
    the 900
    the 900

Awesome!

coolant change Empty Re: coolant change

Post by eternally_troubled Wed 24 Aug 2016, 3:17 pm

I'm pretty sure you don't run it while filling, just once you have filled it up and then, only briefly. Then you check the level and top it up as necessary.

If you are concerned about not getting any trapped air then turn the engine over manually while filling, either by pushing the bike along in 2nd gear until the engine turns over a few times or by using the nut under the screw-cover in the middle of the alternator.
    ashcroc
    ashcroc
    the 900
    the 900

Awesome!

Post by ashcroc Wed 24 Aug 2016, 6:12 pm

Ideally you'll want to run the engine for just long enough for the thermostat to open with the cap loose so any trapped air can escape.  It's alot easier to do if you have a slave tank.
    Jameshambleton
    Jameshambleton
    the 900
    the 900

Post by Jameshambleton Wed 24 Aug 2016, 8:25 pm

Make sure the engine is cold so the system it's pressurised, undo the bottom hose that goes from the rad to the pump. Use a 6mm I think socket (do not use a screwdriver you'll wreck the head on it believe me) to undo the hose and pull it off and the coolant will come out.