CB500 Club forum
You don’t stop riding because you’re getting old, but you get old when you stop riding.

+10
ZekeVal
jonnyteabag
Beresford
juhone
Melitos
hh_12345
ratatooie
eternally_troubled
l.t.racing
sullivj
14 posters

2000 CB500 Brat Style Cafe Racer Project

juhone
    juhone
    Crotch Rocketuer
    Crotch Rocketuer

2000 CB500 Brat Style Cafe Racer Project Empty 2000 CB500 Brat Style Cafe Racer Project

Post by juhone Wed 01 Feb 2017, 9:42 pm

Hello everybody! I just found this wonderful forum and thought to share my little build project with you.

Some background first: I'm not that experienced biker, I've had my licence just for couple of years. I currently ride Triumph 2010 Street Triple. As I live in Finland, I needed something motorcycle related stuff to do while waiting for the winter to pass. Then one day I got a brilliant idea: Why not build/modify a new bike for myself and hopefully learn along the way how they function. I have pretty much zero experience with motors, but as I have cycling background, I'm used to tinkering with things with two wheels. Mountain bike brakes and shocks seems to be fundamentally pretty similar in motorbikes, just bigger - they can't be that difficult to figure out. Or that's what I'm thinking, off course I can be totally wrong about it Smile. After doing some research, I ended up wanting to base my build on CB 500 as they are pretty cheap, parts are easy to find, reliable and basically simple and easy to fix machines (or that's what other people have said in the Internets). So about a month ago I went to a local bike dealership and got myself a 2000 CB500. Why 2000? As I'm a bit intimidated with engines, I wanted a bike with low kms and good overall condition. That way I don't have to start messing with the engine unless I at some point want to. The bike I got has around 34000km's under her belt and what I've gathered, that means it's just properly run in. Other reason to get a newer bike was that it has hydraulic brak