CB500 Club forum
You don’t stop riding because you’re getting old, but you get old when you stop riding.

3 posters

Newbie looking to get a CB500

baoluofu
    baoluofu
    Squiddy
    Squiddy

Newbie looking to get a CB500 Empty Newbie looking to get a CB500

Post by baoluofu Sat 18 Aug 2012, 3:40 pm

Hi everyone,

I started riding at the end of 2010 on a Honda XR125. I passed my full test at the end of last summer but didn't upgrade to a big bike at the time because of money. I sold my XR125 a few months ago and have been cycling on my daily commute while the weather has been reasonably nice.

However I'm now looking at finally getting a big bike and thinking about a CB500 as I've read good things about it, and it's cheap to buy and run.

The only motorbikes I've ridden are the XR125 and a Yamaha Diversion 600 (around '03 reg I think) for my test training. By the time I sold the XR I had definitely outgrown it and it was starting to feel like it was limiting me. The Yamaha felt good power wise but the riding position was a little hard on my wrists after a couple of hours.

I'm quite tall at 6'3" so a little concerned about any bike I buy being too cramped. I went to a dealer today and sat on a bunch of bikes to start getting a feel for what feels good to me. All of the sport bikes felt too small, but in general most others felt fine. The Kawasaki er-6n felt quite cramped, but the Yamaha XJ6 Diversion, Triumph Street Triple and Honda Hornet didn't feel too cramped at all.

I'd appreciate any taller CB500 riders describing how they get on with riding them. I'd guess the Honda Hornet I sat on is going to be closest to the CB500 fit wise, so if anyone could let me know how different they are that would be appreciated.

I intend to use whatever bike I end up buying for commuting in London mainly, with the occasional longer trip up to Sheffield/Peak District. I'd also like to know how the bike handles pillion riders.