CB500 Club forum
You don’t stop riding because you’re getting old, but you get old when you stop riding.

+4
badseeds
cb1300rider
Basil Moss
TimReal
8 posters

New rider from manchester

mcalvert39
    mcalvert39
    Silver Bullet
    Silver Bullet

New rider from manchester Empty New rider from manchester

Post by mcalvert39 Mon 03 Mar 2014, 8:17 pm

Hello everyone.
    My names Matt and ive just turned 30. And for my 30th I decided to join the two wheel'd club. The CBs I just bought isn't just my first big bike, its my first ever motorbike! Unless you count a mini moto.

Im a mechanic by trade and I have worked on many vehicles, from cars, HGV's road sweepers and now horticultural equipment. So im not afraid to get stuck in.

I bought the bike on my 30th birthday at the end of feb and I have just finished giving it a once over. Needless to say their is a list of things that id like to do before I ride it.

New rider from manchester WP_000561_zpsbf002098

New rider from manchester WP_000560_zps3c8b234e

New rider from manchester WP_000558_zpsca8c3d64

Its a 2001 with 26K on the clock. Came with the top box, non standard indicators, heated grips.
    It also has a scottoil system but it seems to be missing parts.
    It also came with some spares. An abundance of indicators, new front and rear pads and a chain and sprocket set.

All for £800!

I havnt even got my licence yet but it was too good to pass!

So for now I will clean and maintain it until im ready.
    mcalvert39
    mcalvert39
    Silver Bullet
    Silver Bullet

New rider from manchester Empty Re: New rider from manchester

Post by mcalvert39 Mon 03 Mar 2014, 8:26 pm

So this is the list I just came up with. This isn't even me going over it with a fine toothed comb. Just a quick inspection!

1. scott oil system innop
    2. rear brake caliper seems to be sticking
    3. rear brake switch innop
    4. front side light innop